Define your Architecture

The first step of any software development is to define the architecture. The architecture for End-to-End Simulators depends primarily on the type of Instrument.

1.Basic concepts of BIBLOS: Instruments, Modules and Blocks

In Archeo the 4 most common types of Instruments for Earth Observation missions were identified: Passive Opticals, Active Microwaves, Passive Microwaves and Active Opticals [Ref.].

The high-level architecture units of the End-to-End Simulator are called Modules, in BIBLOS terminology. The software units that compose the Modules, and contain the algorithms are called Blocks.

Read more on the BIBLOS glossary.

Read more on generic Blocks specification.

2.The Reference Architecture

The Reference Architecture is the high-level architecture of any End-to-End Simulator. It contains the simulation of the acquisition of Instrument on board of the spacecraft (Geometry+Scene Generation+Instrument Modules), and the Ground Processor Prototypes (Level 1 and 2).

Following the Reference Architecture standardises the E2ES and allows for reuse and evolution. Many ESA missions are compliant with the Reference Architecture, for example: FLEX, CARBONSAT.

Read more on the Reference Architecture.

3. Type of Mission & Adapting the architecture for each Mission

Each mission has its own particularities. There might be several instruments on board, of the same or different type. This shall be taken into account to define the architecture and adapt the Reference Architecture.

Read more on the different types of missions.

Read more on adapting the Reference Architecture for each mission.

4.Read more on the background of the project.

The BIBLOS project is an effort from ESA to reduce the effort in the development of E2ES. Additionally to the BIBLOS project, ESA has a number of activities, like OpenSF (a platform to execute different models) and the EO CFI library.

Read more about the background and goals of the project.